Welcome to
Science a GoGo's
Discussion Forums
Please keep your postings on-topic or they will be moved to a galaxy far, far away.
Your use of this forum indicates your agreement to our terms of use.
So that we remain spam-free, please note that all posts by new users are moderated.

The Forums
General Science Talk        Not-Quite-Science        Climate Change Discussion        Physics Forum        Science Fiction

Who's Online Now
0 members (), 628 guests, and 1 robot.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Posts
Top Posters(30 Days)
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#5420 02/10/06 01:37 AM
G
grad-dy Offline OP
OP Offline
G
Hi.I am new to this, so here I go:
I am a graduate student studying sociology. I am currently taking a research methods course and have an assignment that is leaving me with many unanswered questions (of which my professor will not help). So, if anyone can guide me, I'd really appreciate it. The question: What makes scientific research go? In other words, what makes up and drives the research market?
I'd love both your thoughts and maybe some relevent articles/pieces on the subject. Thank you!

#5421 02/10/06 01:45 AM
J
J
prepare to be insulted by "Uncle Al"...

#5422 02/10/06 02:05 AM
G
grad-dy Offline OP
OP Offline
G
Well, if I must take insult to get to my goal...then bring it on...

#5423 02/10/06 03:20 AM
D
Megastar
Megastar
D
There is no single answer. Each of us is driven my something different.

For some it is the promise of recognition. A patent, a paper published, a book.

For some it is the challenge of facing down a challenge never before bested and tenaciously wrestling it into submission.

For some is just a 9-to-5 job and they can't wait to get home and work in the garden.

And I could give you a dozen more equally valid answers if I were writting the paper.

Takes all kinds to make the world go round.