Welcome to
Science a GoGo's
Discussion Forums
Please keep your postings on-topic or they will be moved to a galaxy far, far away.
Your use of this forum indicates your agreement to our terms of use.
So that we remain spam-free, please note that all posts by new users are moderated.

The Forums
General Science Talk        Not-Quite-Science        Climate Change Discussion        Physics Forum        Science Fiction

Who's Online Now
0 members (), 181 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Posts
Top Posters(30 Days)
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#6267 03/30/06 02:13 PM
Z
OP Offline
Z
I'm studying teaching and physics. At the moment i really do not enjoy the lectures that I am going through. Surely there is a better way to take that information to the students I teach?

The point of this is to ask, what stood out for you when you learnt science? Why do you enjoy it? Is there anything that teachers did (or could have done) that I can use?

Any replies would be nice.

I will never say the word procrastinate again.
T
Megastar
Megastar
T
My aunt is a teacher. She's taught English and Logic and music, mostly to Gifted and Talented students, but for the past 10 years or so she's been the head of the drama department at her HS.

I am a tutor and guest-lecturer in programming at a local HS. (I've also taught at the university level.) I mentioned to my aunt that the students are extremely rude to their own teacher. They invariably start out treating me just as rudely, but after the first ten minutes of my first lecture, everyone does a 180. Suddenly, they're paying attention, asking questions, sometimes arguing with me or among themselves about some particular point.

Her response: You have discovered the first rule of teaching and the first rule of maintaining order in a classroom - and that is having something important to say.