Welcome to
Science a GoGo's
Discussion Forums
Please keep your postings on-topic or they will be moved to a galaxy far, far away.
Your use of this forum indicates your agreement to our terms of use.
So that we remain spam-free, please note that all posts by new users are moderated.

The Forums
General Science Talk        Not-Quite-Science        Climate Change Discussion        Physics Forum        Science Fiction

Who's Online Now
0 members (), 181 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Posts
Top Posters(30 Days)
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
O
Orac Offline OP
Megastar
OP Offline
Megastar
O
A rather strange and bizarre conversation with Newton reminded me of probably my first great mystery I ever first puzzled at in science.

It was one of those moments in life that you remember as if it was yesterday.

I was a young student and this was my first real science problem I had encountered that I could not answer and any answer given to me by teachers and books I could easily falsify.

The problem was simple and you may care to follow

1.) We know and can measure that light is slowed in certain transparent media like air, water and glass.

2.) So if you make the glass or water thicker surely the light must slow more and more like stopping a bullet with jelly all one needs is enough thickness of jelly and the bullet will stop. I thought I was onto something with this because the deep oceans were also dark so a certain amount of water seems to be able to stop light in the above prediction.

However there is a big problem the speed of light is quoted as an absolute number and in fact it is used to create the refractive index

refractive index = speed of light in vacuum / Speed of light in media

Vacuum: 299,792,458 meters per second ... refractive index 1.000

Air at STP: 298,925,574 meters per second ... refractive index 1.000293

Typical crown glass: 197,231,880 meters per second .... refractive index 1.52