Welcome to
Science a GoGo's
Discussion Forums
Please keep your postings on-topic or they will be moved to a galaxy far, far away.
Your use of this forum indicates your agreement to our terms of use.
So that we remain spam-free, please note that all posts by new users are moderated.

The Forums
General Science Talk        Not-Quite-Science        Climate Change Discussion        Physics Forum        Science Fiction

Who's Online Now
0 members (), 646 guests, and 1 robot.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Posts
Top Posters(30 Days)
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
M
mnoble
Unregistered
mnoble
Unregistered
M
Hello Science A GoGo List,

My name is Margaret and I am a sound artist. I have been recently asked to create a sound work that connects with "hard science." I want to find and use time-line data from a natural phenomena/theory that is interesting. I want to map the subjects of the data on a midi note scale. I also like the idea of using a scientific theory that uses natural phenomena because there might be an opportunity to use recorded samples of the subjects/phenomena as instrumentation. I recognize that this probably isn't very scientific, believe me, I am not clear myself on my approach! :-) In any case, I am looking for suggestions and perhaps a collaborator.

Hope to hear from members that are interested or have ideas for me. Thanks for your time!

Please feel free to email me directly at:

margaret@margaretnoble.net
Margaret

K
Megastar
Megastar
K
Hmm well they say everything's made of strings or membranes that vibrate like instrument strings. Maybe you can adjust the frequencies into audible range, superimpose all the different frequencies that'll be happening together, and generate the "sound" of some atom or whatever?

But should people be able to recognize what it is? In that case you better just record something of a sci-fi movie :P

R
Megastar
Megastar
R