Welcome to
Science a GoGo's
Discussion Forums
Please keep your postings on-topic or they will be moved to a galaxy far, far away.
Your use of this forum indicates your agreement to our terms of use.
So that we remain spam-free, please note that all posts by new users are moderated.

The Forums
General Science Talk        Not-Quite-Science        Climate Change Discussion        Physics Forum        Science Fiction

Who's Online Now
0 members (), 181 guests, and 2 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Posts
Top Posters(30 Days)
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#18315 02/23/07 01:45 AM
J
jamc Offline OP
OP Offline
J
I am a student and don't like the idea of ethanol because of the conflicting purposes coming from it's source. I mean because it comes from crops that could also be food. I found jatropha biodiesel and really started to take interest in it. I found this company (Gold Star Biodiesel) and they are worth taking a look at, www.goldstarbiodiesel.com. Jatropha seems be a very promising source of fuel for the future. Anyone more intelligent than me have any insight as to why it isn't as prominant right now as WVO or ethanol and is this as promising as I think it is?

jamc #18334 02/23/07 11:48 AM
D
Megastar
Megastar
D
There is no shortage of food on this planet.
There is a shortage of will to make it available to people.
Not using the crop to make biodiesel will not feed a single person.

That said I am against all diesel, all carbon based fuels, and the sooner we wise up and find alternatives the better for all concerned.

Global Star Biodiesel is part of the problem not part of the solution. They are just substituting one CO2 producer for another.

DA Morgan
J
jamc Offline OP
OP Offline
J