Welcome to
Science a GoGo's
Discussion Forums
Please keep your postings on-topic or they will be moved to a galaxy far, far away.
Your use of this forum indicates your agreement to our terms of use.
So that we remain spam-free, please note that all posts by new users are moderated.

The Forums
General Science Talk        Not-Quite-Science        Climate Change Discussion        Physics Forum        Science Fiction

Who's Online Now
0 members (), 388 guests, and 4 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Latest Posts
Top Posters(30 Days)
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#16192 09/04/06 09:33 PM
R
Rallem Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Hi,
I am fairly new to the study of science, and a topic of interest came up in a discussion I had with a friend. In that discussion he claimed that scientists were able to modify electrons in one location and thus alter the electron makeup of another atom instantaneously no matter how distant. Can anyone please explain this to me and possibly provide a url?

D
D
Hi Rallem,

I get the impression that what you mean is something we call quantum entanglement. The notion was first introduced by Einstein, Rosen and Podolsky in 1935. Although Einstein was one of the major players in the formulation of quantum mechanics, he was never really happy with it. This is true for many of the other founders of quantum theory. For example, Schrodinger and Dirac both expressed a degree of dissatisfaction.

Some resources to check would be the following.

On the EPR:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/EPR_paradox

http://arxiv.org/abs/quant-ph/0211012

On quantum entanglement check out:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quantum_entanglement

http://plato.stanford.edu/entries/qt-entangle/

Dr. R.

R
Rallem Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Thank you Dr. Rocket, your response has given me lots to absorb, but I have a very basic question about the data provided by wikipedia about the EPR Paradox. In the Reality and Completeness section of the page it says